Winespiration Wednesday: Whatamelon Cocktail Recipe

Welcome to our first #WinespirationWednesday!  Today’s recipe is a refreshing summer cocktail, perfect for sitting by the water and soaking up the sun.  I came across it while reading theSkimm, who shared it from Liquor.com.  It combines several of my favorites:  wine, vodka and St. Germain.

The players:

IMG_0536

Step 1:

IMG_0539
Muddle watermelon juice and mint!

Step 2:

IMG_0538.JPG
Add the rest of the ingredients.

Step 3:

IMG_0540
Shake and strain.

Step 4:

IMG_0541
Garnish and serve.

Here’s what you need:

2 oz Watermelon Juice (I used MinuteMaid)

6 mint leaves

1.5 oz Cucumber Vodka (I used Svedka Cucumber Lime)

1 oz St. Germain

.5 oz Lime Juice (I omitted because of the vodka)

.5 oz Agave Nectar

1 oz White Whine (I used Pinot Grigio)

How to make it:

Place your watermelon juice and mint leaves in a shaker and muddle.

Add everything else, and fill the shaker with ice.  Shake until chilled, and strain into a glass with new ice.   Add a mint leaf as a garnish, and you’re all set!

My thoughts:

This was delicious, and the mint really brightens the drink.  It was slightly sweet, so I made a second round without the agave, which was perfect.  If you’re good with sweet, keep the agave, but know it’s just fine without it!

When it comes to the Whatamelon Cocktail, I say Wine Not?  Give it a try, and let me know your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

