Monday Motivation: Wine & Cheese Night

While we’ve had friends over for many a cheese and cracker with just any old glass wine, I decided to do a little digging, and intentionally pair wine and cheese.  To Pinterest we go!  I came across this fun infographic, detailing what types of wines go with which cheeses based on firmness.  After reading through, I discovered that Chardonnay and Cabernet went well with each of the different categories.  This my friends is party planning gold.  Remember, you want to keep things simple for not only your wallet, but for your guests.  Here, you provide a white and a red that no matter your guests’ preference, will go well with each cheese selection.  It also helps distinguish this as wine & cheese as opposed to a wine tasting party.

Armed with my infographic research, I hit the cheese island at Kroger.  I decided to choose a soft, semi-soft and semi-hard cheese since my wine & cheese assistant (read: husband) is not a fan of hard cheeses.  We ended up with a reading, a blue (not gorgonzola) and a sharp cheddar.  The smoked gouda dip was an added bonus, since it was on special.  Plus, you don’t have to twist my arm to try a cheese dip that also has bacon.  Here’s how it turned out:

IMG_0518
Cheese pairings ready!

Next up: the wine.  If you’ll remember from my last post, I scored a $17 bottle of Chardonnay for $3.99 at Kroger.  It was high time to try it, and I can report it was worth the $4.  I’m also a big fan of South American wines, and keep a couple reds on hand.  Based on the infographic, we needed to crack open the Cab.

IMG_0516
Meridian Chardonnay & Tour Guide Cabernet.

Now, time to taste.  The infographic proved right; both wines went well with all cheeses.  My favorite pairings were the Cab with the smoked gouda dip.  The smoky finish on the wine brought out the smokiness of the gouda.  The Chardonnay paired well with the blue, softening the bite of the cheese.

All in all, this was a simple, fun experiment that I cannot wait to turn into an actual event. Remember: keep it simple.  Choose a cheese from each category, and a red and a white that pairs well with all.  Now that you know how quick it was to put together, Wine Not have a wine & cheese night?

Leave a Reply

